top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllison

First-Year Teaching in a Pandemic


We first-year teachers have gotten a lot thrown at us this year - online students, in-person students, quarantined students, students switching back and forth, a new school, new administration, new colleagues, new classroom, new curriculum, new everything it seemed. I still have about 30 students whom I have never met that have participated in my virtual class all year. The majority of my students are in-person, but many of them have received the call at one point or another to “come to the office with all their things”, meaning that a precautionary quarantine lay ahead for them.



I spent the first few days of the school year trying to decorate my classroom, understand what was expected of me, and plan the first two days of school for both my online and in-person students. I tried in vain to remember all the advice given to me throughout my college years of how to be a successful teacher. At the end of the second day of school, a Friday, I remember telling a colleague that I had literally no idea what I was going to do the following week. I didn’t even have one single thing planned for the upcoming Monday. That Saturday I worked the entire day trying to get a grasp on the curriculum, plan homework and lessons for the upcoming week, and make videos for my online students of the content. It looked like my year was going to be pretty crazy and unpredictable.


So, the questions people keep asking me are – how am I doing now? Am I enjoying teaching? Has it been a good year? The answer is yes – I LOVE teaching. Here are the top 4 things that got me through the year.

1. Healthy boundaries


I remember talking to another teacher early on in the year who told me that they don’t take their work home with them. This was revolutionary for me. I’m not sure if I ever considered that teachers didn’t have to go home and grade in the evenings, or lesson plan on the weekends. The thought of leaving my school computer at school was incredulous to me. However, I started to leave my work at work. Once I leave for the day, I let my brain focus on other things. On weekends, I didn’t even check my school email.


While I may think “What if one of my students needs me over the weekend? What if I need to answer a question about the homework?”, I have to realize that someday I hope they set up healthy boundaries in their lives between work and life, and I am modeling that now for them. Furthermore, having this boundary helps me not to burn out, which a large number of new teachers do. While my students do not get their tests back the day after they take them, if they are getting them back within a week and I am living a healthy lifestyle, that’s a win.

2. Buckets of grace


You might read the heading and think I mean towards my students. While I do try to show them lots of grace where appropriate, I actually mean grace towards myself. I have had to give grace towards myself a lot this year, and that has helped me stay calm, upbeat, and content. While my philosophy is that I should give students some homework everyday (especially to make sure my online students are doing something at home), sometimes the assignment I am trying to create malfunctions, and I don’t have enough time to create one without taking my work home. Here I give myself grace, and allow myself to not always meet my expectations. I know I am a first-year teacher, and I don’t expect myself to win a teacher-of-the-year award. I’m doing the best I can for now, and know I will approve upon it in the years to come.

3. Prayer


A verse that I apply to teaching is Psalm 127:1, “Unless the LORD builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the guards stand watch in vain.” I put a lot of time and effort into teaching these crazy kids, and I do not want it to be in vain – so I pray that God may teach the kids through me. I pray for my students who are struggling to find motivation, I pray that my students may feel God’s love through me, and I pray for wisdom on how to handle different situations. I can look back on this year and say confidently that God’s strength shone through my weaknesses, because on my own strength I am not sure where I would be today. I believe He has led me to West Lafayette for a reason, and I pray that I glorify Him in my work.

4. Students


This year has had its ups and downs for us all, myself included. Multiple times this year during one of my prep periods I was very saddened and sometimes crying over things outside of school, but then the bell would ring and I’d dry my eyes and put on a smile for my students. When they come into my classroom, I feel energy – I feel a strong purpose. I also feel community. They help me focus on them rather than myself, and that is freeing and life-giving to me. Sometimes I feel like I need them more than they need me. I’m so thankful for them, and try to tell them that often.

This first year of teaching has been hard, but I have learned so much and am so thankful for each person who has encouraged me along the way. My students are hilarious and bright, and I am sometimes amazed at how much I love them. If you know a soon-to-be first-year teacher, I encourage you to share this blog with them. If you are a first-year teacher, I hope these tips help you have a balanced, grace-filled, prayerful, and purpose-driven year.


-Srta. Blanca

104 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page